Bradenton Reckless Driving Lawyer

Reckless driving charges are difficult to defend against. You may be charged with reckless driving whether or not you are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. Florida law enforcement and courts view reckless driving as an extreme danger to the public as well as to the person committing the misconduct and to the passengers in his or her vehicle.

A Good Attorney Can Make A Significant Difference

Punishments for reckless driving are strict, but an experienced criminal defense lawyer can defend your case on several possible grounds, including a warrantless traffic stop, insufficient evidence to prove the case beyond a reasonable doubt and other defenses involving legally justifiable conduct relating to the offense.

I am D. Scott Rieth, a Sarasota-Bradenton-area reckless driving defense attorney who can effectively put the burden of proof on the prosecution. I take the time to fully understand and independently investigate the entire incident. If there is a way to mitigate the consequences, reduce the charges or dismiss the case, I can find it. I fight for my clients and vigorously protect their rights.

Contact me at 941-404-4192 or 888-352-3179 toll free. I offer free initial consultations, and I am responsive 24/7.

Reckless Driving Penalties In Florida

These charges may be brought in addition to speeding, suspended driver's license, DUIs or other traffic violations, which could amplify the penalties that you face. If you were charged with reckless driving as the result of speeding, a hit-and-run or other form of vehicle misconduct, the penalties you face under Florida law are:

First Offense — Reckless Driving

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Up to six months of probation
  • Up to $500 fine

Reckless Driving With A Prior Conviction

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to six months of probation
  • Minimum $50 fine and up to $500 fine

Reckless Driving Causing Property Damage

  • First-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • Up to 12 months probation
  • Up to $1,000 fine

Reckless Driving Causing Bodily Injury

  • Third-degree felony
  • Up to five years in prison
  • Up to five years of probation
  • Up to $5,000 fine

Additionally, Florida runs the Victim Awareness Program (VAP), to which your participation and completion may be ordered by the court. It is a two-hour class session aimed at changing poor driving behaviors typically found in DUI, habitual and other traffic offenders.

If you or a loved one was charged with reckless driving, I can help you by immediately intervening in your case.

Call Me Today To Discuss Reckless Speeding Charges

Contact me to schedule a free and confidential initial consultation at 941-404-4192 or 888-352-3179 toll free. I meet at my clients' convenience.