Bradenton Lewd And Lascivious Conduct Attorney

In Florida, the age of sexual consent is 16 years old. If you are suspected of engaging in sexual touching, molestation or penetration of a child under the age of 16, you will either be charged with lewd or lascivious conduct, molestation or battery (statutory rape).

Understanding The Charges

  • Lewd or lascivious conduct:
    • Intentional touching of a child under 16 years of age in a lewd or lascivious manner
    • Solicitation of a child under 16 years old to commit a lewd or lascivious act
  • Lewd or lascivious molestation:
    • Intentional touching of the breasts, genitals or buttocks of a child under 16 in a lewd or lascivious manner
    • Encouraging, forcing or enticing a child under 16 to touch another person in a lewd or lascivious manner
  • Lewd or lascivious battery:
    • Any sexual activity with a child older than 12 and younger than 16
    • Encouraging, forcing or enticing a child older than 12 and under 16 to participate in prostitution, sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality or other sex act

Have you have been charged or accused of a sex crime? Are you under investigation? Call me today. I am D. Scott Rieth, a Sarasota-Bradenton lewd and lascivious conduct lawyer who can take immediate action to protect your rights and reputation.

Contact me at 941-404-4192 or 888-352-3179 toll free. I offer free initial consultations, and I am responsive 24/7.

I have more than 20 years of legal experience, and I am a former state prosecuting attorney with in-depth knowledge of the system trying to build the evidence necessary to take away your freedoms and place you on the Florida and U.S. sex offender registry for life, which means that the places you can live, work, travel to or try to relocate to will be restricted. Certain monitoring and reporting activities may last the rest of your life.

Penalties For Lewd Or Lascivious Conduct

  • Second-degree felony charge:
    • Up to 15 years in prison
      • Minimum sentence of two and a half years in prison for touching or probation for solicitation only
  • Third-degree felony charge if accused in under 18 years old:
    • Up to five years in prison
      • Minimum two and a half years in prison for touching or probation for solicitation only

Penalties For Lewd Or Lascivious Molestation

The prosecution will seek a life felony conviction if you are over 18 years old and are accused of committing a crime against a child younger than 12 years old. You will be charged with a second-degree felony if the crime was committed against a child between the ages of 12 and 16.

If you are under 18 years old and are accused of committing a crime against a child under 12, you will be charged with a second-degree felony. If the child is between the ages of 12 and 16, you will be charged with a third-degree felony.

  • Life felony
    • Maximum sentence of life in prison
    • Minimum of 25 years in prison and probation or community control for the rest of your life
  • Second-degree felony
    • Maximum 15 years in prison
    • Minimum of four years and three months in prison
  • Third-degree felony
    • Maximum 15 years in prison
    • Minimum of three years in prison

I closely evaluate the evidence against each of my clients. I begin building a defense from day one and work to negotiate a charge to keep you out of prison and off the sex offender registry. Plea bargaining is an option, but several other defenses against false allegations, intent, provocation and other mitigating circumstances may apply to your case.

Call Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer D. Scott Rieth Today

Contact me today to schedule a free and confidential initial consultation at 941-404-4192 or 888-352-3179 toll free.