Being charged with a DUI offense can have long-lasting, impactful consequences. From the time of the arrest, the prosecution will be building a case against you. In the state of Florida, penalties vary depending on the number of times you have found yourself in this situation.
According to Florida State Legislation, for a first-time offense, you can face a jail term of 6-9 months, fines ranging from $500-$2000 and license suspension from 6 months to 1 year. For a second offense, you could find yourself in jail for up to a year, facing a fine of up to $4000, license suspension for up to 5 years and, for a third time offense, you could face jail up to a year, fines up to $5000, and you could lose your license for up to 10 years. In all cases, your vehicle will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed. An interlock device is like a personal breathalyzer installed in your vehicle, requiring you to breathe into it in order to start the car. If the alcohol content level of your blood is above the program limit, your vehicle will fail to start.
In addition to the penalties associated with a DUI offense, the impact on your life and reputation can be significant as there is often a stigma and biased judgment about DUI offenders, not to mention the fact that a DUI charge will follow you as a criminal record.
Let's face it. We all make mistakes. We are human. Even having made this type of mistake, you still deserve to have your rights defended aggressively. It is in your best interest to obtain legal advice immediately when faced with drunken driving charges. The attorney can intercede on your behalf, ensure you understand the charges against you and negotiate on your behalf for the best possible outcome. DUI and traffic offenses are to be taken seriously, and having your best interests and rights protected is imperative.