Whenever you are convicted of a moving violation as a Florida driver, points accumulate against your driver’s license. Even when you pay a speeding ticket, it is counted as a conviction. There are several ways for those points to pile up, and as they do, you come ever closer to being labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender.
You could make a serious attempt to change your driving habits, of course, but if the situation has gone too far for that, your next step should be to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney, because you may be facing some serious penalties.
Points and their results
Your driver’s license can be suspended for 30 days if you accumulate 12 points in a 12-month period. You are looking at a three-month suspension if you have 18 points in 18 months, and for one year if you have 24 points in a 36-month period. Keep in mind that the more points you collect, the higher your auto insurance premiums will be.
The making of a Habitual Traffic Offender
You will earn the Habitual Offender title if the law convicts you three times of any of the following:
- Any violation related to driving under the influence
- Operation of your vehicle resulting in voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
- Driving while your license is suspended or revoked
- Using your vehicle to commit a felony
- Failing to stop and render aid at the scene of a crash where someone died or people were injured
More trouble possible
You will add to your total convictions in the state of Florida if you have violated a federal law, the law of another state or country, or even any ordinance of a municipality or county of another state. When you reach out for legal assistance, your attorney will work to have the charges against you reduced, fines lowered and driving privileges reinstated. Even as a Habitual Traffic Offender, you have rights, and your attorney will see that they are protected.