In Florida, people may be considered guilty of driving under the influence if they meet one of several criteria. If their blood alcohol concentration is or is in excess of .08 grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or .08 grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath they may be considered intoxicated while driving. The use of certain controlled substances also may impose DUI sanctions on a driver found to have them in his or her system.
The penalties for DUI alone are quite serious. In fact, fines for a first time DUI offense can reach as high as $1,000, and a person convicted of a first time DUI may also be imprisoned for up to six months. Convictions for second DUIs can include fines of up to $2,000 and imprisonment of up to 9 months. Other possible penalties can also apply.
However, the penalties for DUI crimes can increase if authorities find that an individual's alleged conduct caused personal injury to or the death of others. DUI manslaughter occurs in Florida when a human being or unborn child perishes in a DUI event. Felony charges can apply in these cases and accused individuals' penalties can become even more significant if it is alleged that they knew of the crash they allegedly caused and left the scene, or failed to offer aid after the incident.
It is often prudent for people facing DUI crimes of all types to consult with attorneys who represent individuals facing these serious criminal accusations. When possible felony charges and applicable punishments are in play, though, it can be imperative for an accused person to receive sound legal counsel on legal rights to defend him- or herself.Source:
Post Type: TOPICAL