Drivers in Florida who are convicted on drunk driving charges might be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle. This device is part of a restricted driving penalty to ensure that the driver is not getting behind the wheel while under the influence. The driver will blow into the machine so it can register the blood alcohol content. The vehicle will not start if the BAC is above a certain level. Understanding the law as to when the ignition interlock device will be installed is an important part of the program and its process.
Florida DUI laws will determine the length of time the interlock device will be on the person's vehicle. The ignition interlock device will be put on a vehicle that the person owns as an individual or leases or owns jointly and operates it routinely. If the driver is convicted of a first offense DUI and his or her BAC is 0.08 or more, the ignition interlock device might be placed on the driver's vehicle for a minimum of six continuous months. If it is a first offense and the BAC is 0.15 or higher or the level was 0.08 with a person in the vehicle who was under age 18, the ignition interlock device will be installed for at least six continuous months. For a second offense in these circumstances, it will be for two continuous years.
For a second offense of DUI, the device will be placed on the driver's vehicle for at least one year. A third offense within 10 years of a prior conviction will result in the device being placed on the driver's vehicle for a minimum of two continuous years. If the third offense occurs more than 10 years after the previous conviction, it will be installed for a minimum of two continuous years. If there is a fourth offense or more, it will be installed for a minimum of five years.
People who can legally drive after a DUI conviction might be required to have an ignition interlock device. Since this can be just one of the litany of penalties a person can face with a conviction, it is wise for a person arrested on DUI and traffic offenses to try and reduce the charges or get an acquittal. A legal professional experienced in helping clients lodge a defense against drunk driving charges can be of assistance in any case.
Source: leg.state.fl.us, "322.2715 Ignition interlock device.," accessed on March 12, 2018